Patty Melt – Diner Food at Home

Want something good that reminds you of when you were a kid?  Well, for those of us of a certain age, try a patty-melt: they are one of the ultimate comfort foods. Maybe not the best diet food . . . but who’s counting calories?!food 002[7]

When a grilled cheese is not enough but you want something more than a burger, then why not compromise and have both! What could be easier – a grilled burger (I like mine rare), caramelized onion, and a little cheese on some good quality white bread (this is no time for Wonder Bread). I’m sorry but this is good eats, and reminds me of Woolworth’s, when they still had diner food downstairs. Anyway, I updated it  a little and threw in a salad on the side. Looks good, don’tcha think?  Mmmm . . .  ~ GC

 

“Gerry’s” famous Patty Melt

pattymelt 003

Ingredients
  • 8 slices Swiss cheese
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 cup onions, sliced
  • 12 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 8 slices rye bread
Directions
  1. Sauté onions until golden in 2 tablespoons butter until translucent and pattymelt 001lightly golden.
  2. Remove from the pan.
  3. Form the meat patty so it will fit the bread.
  4. Grill to desired doneness.
  5. Butter bread on one side; put buttered side down on hot griddle, put 1 slice cheese followed by onions then cooked patty, followed by cheese.
  6. pattymelt 008Butter one side of the other slice of bread and place on top buttered side out.
  7. Fry until bread is crisp but not burned, turn over and do the same thing on the other side. Cheese should be well melted.

pattymelt 012

Slice on the diagonal.

4 comments

  1. Gerry, would this be good with shaved corned beef instead of a burger, and serve cole slaw on the side?

    By the way, Lana put a soda bread recipe on the site, I baked it with raisins and apricots and it was delicious.

  2. Gerry, remember when we lived in Doraville, and I took you and Steve to Woolworth’s for lunch about once a week? Such a treat when the older siblings were in school………….

  3. This looks delicious, though I just can’t eat hamburg rare, but all else looks divine!

    We used to have a Woolworth’s in Skowhegan, and I have had more than one grilled cheese sandwich at their lunch counter in my time. Too bad that type of lunch counter is not still popular.

    I look forward to your new post, Gerry.

  4. Yum! Looks perfect to me and I know what I’ll be making this weekend! Great food photos! Keep them coming!

Leave a comment